The Soundtrack Of Our Minds

The grass is always greener on the other side

(FreeImages.com/KatinkaKober)

I have been reading through Me, Myself, and Lies by Jennifer Rothschild.  I knew it would be good, and I haven’t been disappointed.

In her book, Jennifer Rothschild said the following statement that really grabbed my attention:

The soundtrack in my thought closet wasn’t a running “Top 20” of God’s wonders and Word; it was my worries.

In her study book, Jennifer Rothschild asks the question, “What do worrying and meditating have in common?”

My answer was, “They are a thought process or consistent refrain that you reflect upon repeatedly.”

JR (Jennifer Rothschild) then asks the reader to describe worry.  I wrote the following:

“Worry is a fixation on  your circumstances, possible problems, and future, without fully considering the influence of God upon them.”

JR (Jennifer Rothschild) then says the following quote:

Worry is fixating or meditating on what if rather than what is Our English word worry comes from the Old English wyrgan and the Old High German wurgen.  Both mean “to strangle.”  When we worry, we choke out the life-giving truth that should be filling our thought closets.

One more powerful statement JR said is:

“Ruminating on the what ifs is an unhealthy way of meditating that invites fear.”

What is the anecdote to a soundtrack, filled with discordant sounds of turmoil and fear?  It is a soundtrack that is filled with the glories of God, His kindness, His compassion, His grace, His love…

Philippians 4:8 gives us some clear guidance as to what our thoughts should look like.  In summary (taken from a study guide from Me, Myself, and Lies by Jennifer Rothschild):

If it is true, I will meditate on it.

If it is honest, I will think about it today.

If it is just, I will dwell on it today.

If it is pure, I will fix my thoughts on it today.

If it is lovely, I will give it shelf space in my thought closet.

If it is of good report, I will meditate on it today.

If it is virtuous, I will let it be the soundtrack in my thought closet.

If it is full of praise, I will deliberate on it today.

So how should our soundtrack sound?  See the following verses:

Luke 4:22

22 So all bore witness to Him, and marveled at the gracious words which proceeded out of His mouth. And they said, “Is this not Joseph’s son?”

John 1:14

The Word Becomes Flesh

14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.

John 1:17

17 For the law was given through Moses, but grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

Our soundtrack should be permeated with grace and truth.

If I want to be like Christ, then I will be full of grace and truth.  If I am finding this to be a greater challenge than I anticipated, perhaps it’s time to ask myself how much I understand God — His nature and His thoughts towards me.

I leave us with one final thought:

We can look at our circumstances through the eyes of God, or we can look at God through the eyes of our circumstances.

The one view gives leads to peace and stability.  The other view leads to fear, insecurity, doubt, and lies.

4 thoughts on “The Soundtrack Of Our Minds

  1. nvkn1ght

    Thank you…, for this one and the other new post. I definitely have a problem with the soundtrack of my mind, especially in the middle of the night! The little thought demons, I’ve called them, start to run around…it only takes one to start! I shared this with my two “sisters” (college roommates) … Good words, and I liked the song that you linked to the other one.

Leave a Reply

