The Essence of Godliness

grapes

(http://www.freeimages.com/photo/grapes-1330)

I grew up with the desire to be “godly.”  What I thought that word meant was a focus on my performance, my actions, how I lived.

I wanted to be “godly” because I wanted to “be someone” to God, to others, to myself.  My identity was in being a “good person” or being “godly.”  (My false identity.)

If you had asked me, I would have said something like, “Godliness comes from God.”

In actuality, I lived that godliness was something I did for God.

What I have come to learn in recent years is that godliness comes from God.

In fact, I, in myself, am incapable of being “godly.”

It is the Presence of God, His Holy Spirit, in me that produces true righteousness.

The true essence of “godliness” is a God-filled life.  That’s it, in a “nut-shell.”

The more I am in Christ and He in me, the more I will be “godly.”

How does this happen?  How do I have “more” of Christ in me?  How am I more in Him?

This is how we abide in Him: (everything we do comes from Him).

John 15:1-5

The True Vine

15 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit He takes away;[a] and every branch that bears fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.

1 John 2:6

He who says he abides in Him ought himself also to walk just as He walked.

1 John 3:6

Whoever abides in Him does not sin. Whoever sins has neither seen Him nor known Him.

Scripture tells us how He dwells within us:

John 14:16

16 And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—

1 John 2:27

27 But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will[a] abide in Him.

1 John 2:14

14 I have written to you, fathers,
    Because you have known Him who is from the beginning.
I have written to you, young men,
    Because you are strong, and the word of God abides in you,
    And you have overcome the wicked one.

What an amazing truth this is!  We can abide in Him, and He abides within us.

If we desire to live a godly life, let’s remember that it is not anything we do for God.  It’s what we do from God, or more accurately, what He does in us.

Leave a Reply

