Remind Me Of Who (Whose) I Am

(Picture taken by Carrie Chiurato.)

I know I am a child of God.  I know who I am.  I know Whose I am.  Sometimes though, I need to be reminded.  Some days, I need the truth breathed into my soul.

Life has a way of happening.  The little people in my life have a way of doing kid things.  My patience has a way of wearing thin.

It’s so hard to walk in the truth of who or rather Whose we are when we are so aware of what we’ve been and of what others think we are.

It’s so easy to hear the lies of the enemy.  To hear them in the accusing voices, lies, and attitudes of others.  To hear them in our own souls, when we begin to believe that our worth is dependent upon what others think of us.  It’s so easy to allow our past, our present circumstances, and other people to define us.

I have lived those dark moments.  I have struggled with how to love the unloving and unlovely.  I have struggled with how to live victoriously when my circumstances are full of broken people, wounded souls, and my own sinfulness.  I have struggled to believe when my present circumstances seem anything but changed or hopeful.

I love what Lysa TerKeurst said in the following: “…sometimes disappointments can become His appointments.”

So what do we do, when circumstances and people are anything but hopeful?  James 1:4 says, “But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.”  

I love what Jason Gray says in his song Remind Me Of Who I Am:

JASON GRAY LYRICS

“Remind Me Who I Am”

When I lose my way,
And I forget my name,
Remind me who I am.
In the mirror all I see,
Is who I don’t wanna be,
Remind me who I am.
In the loneliest places,
When I can’t remember what grace is.Tell me once again who I am to You,
Who I am to You.
Tell me lest I forget who I am to You,
That I belong to You.
To You.When my heart is like a stone,
And I’m running far from home,
Remind me who I am.
When I can’t receive Your love,
Afraid I’ll never be enough,
Remind me who I am.
If I’m Your beloved,
Can You help me believe it.

Tell me once again who I am to You,
Who I am to You, whoa.
Tell me lest I forget who I am to You.
That I belong to You.
To You.

I’m the one you love,
I’m the one you love,
That will be enough,
I’m the one you love.

Tell me once again who I am to You.
Who I am to You.
Tell me lest I forget who I am to You,
That I belong to You, oh.

Tell me once again who I am to You.
Who I am to You.
Tell me lest I forget who I am to You,
That I belong to You.
To You.

Life has a way of getting messy in more ways than one.  This is when grace makes the impossible possible.  This is when grace transforms the messy mundane into the glory of the Gospel lived out in our daily lives.

So what do we do when we feel encumbered with the cares and hurts and sin of this life?
  • We turn to Jesus. 
  • We run to Jesus. 
  • We “bury our heads in His lap” and rest in Him. 
  • We repent and confess and accept His forgiveness. 
  • We believe the truth of what He says about us — not what our past, other people, and our present circumstances say we are. 
  • We let patience have its perfect work by resting in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His truth.
  • We invite His Presence into our lives by communing with Him in prayer.
  • We fill our minds with the hope and truth found in His Word.
  • We hand our cares and hurts to Him and let Him take care of our reputations and of other people.

Dear sister or brother in the Lord, hang in there.  Don’t lose sight of Whose you are because that is who you are!  Who you are has never been dependent upon yourself.  It is dependent upon Whose you are.

Ephesians 5:8

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of the Spirit[a] is in all goodness, righteousness, and truth),

Ephesians 5:1

Therefore be imitators of God as dear children.

2 thoughts on “Remind Me Of Who (Whose) I Am

Leave a Reply

