My Baby Is Not Much Of A Baby Anymore!

Image

This past Monday, Olivia turned one! I say that with feelings of joy but also of reluctance. I love the baby stage!  I can’t believe that the first year of her life is already over. It saddens me.  I just want to savor her baby hands, feet, kisses, babbles … every little part of her sweetness.  I have loved nursing her, loved feeling her little body curled against mine as we have shared the closeness that comes with nursing.

I still remember her birth, the wonder of it all. I have loved those moments, right after bringing our babies into the world, feeling the euphoria of having suffered and yet overcome in delivering our babies.  I have loved the amazing joy that comes when you hold those precious little ones in your arms for the first time!

Why is it that society seems to think that your first child is loved more than your others and that we can’t love “many” children as much as a few?  I so disagree!  My fourth has not been any less special than my first.  If anything, I savor it even more, knowing it could be our last.

Some days, I wish I had a flashing screen in my house that would remind me that these days are transient at best, to hold onto them, to not take my little ones for granted.  Instead, I often feel harried and disgruntled by some infraction or inconvenience.

I am learning, trying to learn.  This summer, my goal is to make lots of good memories with my kids.  We have been playing lots of games together and spending one-on-one time together.  The kids love that — the special one-on-one attention. Yesterday, I swung on the swings with Drew and pulled him around in a wagon.  I have played Chess with Will, Drew, and Luke.  I have played “Memory” with Drew.  Each boy has read to me.  We have cuddled together, planted a garden together, trimmed bushes together, and run around at a park together. Yes, there aren’t too many things more important than spending time together as a family. I am so thankful!  I am so blessed … so very, very blessed!

Image

Here’s Will reading on how to train a dog. He took notes and then practiced some of the tips on his aunt’s dog.

ImageImage

The first picture is of Nana and my kids.  The second one is of my sweet husband and I.Image

Luke enjoying some of our summer fun.Image

Beauty can be seen even in the thorns.  ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

