Deck The Halls

I finally succumbed… to the joy of Christmas fun and making memories!  Jonathan and I took the kids to get a Christmas tree.  This was Olivia’s first tree so it was extra special to pick one this year!  It took awhile since we had five opinions to consider.  In the end, I think everyone was satisfied with the choice, and all the big and little men got to cut it down.  Olivia and I helped hold the tree and carry it out of the woods.

The next day, we all got in on the decorating.  The decorating was a little chaotic at times with boys grabbing my fragile ornaments and bulbs.  I finally had to pull out a pile that they could hang on the tree while I sequestered my fragile ones out of reach and then hung them myself.  All in all, the tree looks beautiful!  It is always a special treat for me to see the ornaments that remind me of places Jonathan and I have visited and bulbs from our first and second Christmases as a married couple.  Plus, there are our pew bows from our wedding that we still hang on our tree.  I love all my ornaments, but I decided that this year my favorite ornament is one that a little boy made for me a month or two ago.  He asked for wrapping paper, a box, and cardboard.  He then gave us a gift to unwrap.  Jonathan and I unwrapped it to find a roughly-cut cardboard star.  With delight our son said, “We don’t have a star for the top of our tree to remind us of Jesus so I made us one.”  This year, we gave him the honors of hanging his star wherever he wanted on our tree.  My tree has exquisite ornaments, but my favorite ornament is a crudely-cut star.  It reminds me that my greatest treasures are in Jesus, whose birth we celebrate, and are in the love that my cardboard star expresses.

One thought on “Deck The Halls

Leave a Reply

