Feeling A Little Humbug

I am wondering if any other mom is feeling like I am — that I wish I could just skip all the craziness that comes with Christmas: decorating, cleaning like crazy, trying to find gifts for everyone that we can afford and that the recipient will appreciate, trying to find time to wrap presents, trying to find time to write a Christmas letter and then mail them all, and the list goes on.  It’s not that I don’t like this stuff.  It’s just overwhelming since my life is busy enough already that I wish I could skip all the extra work and keep it really simple.

Since it wasn’t that long ago — I think my youngest sister would disagree — since I was a child, I do remember the fun and wonder of the beautiful Christmas decorations.  So, I know that I will somehow find the time to clean a portion of my attic so I can pull out our Christmas decorations.  Then, my already allergy-overwhelmed body will shut down on me for a little while, and I will wonder why I went to all the trouble.  Yeah, I am feeling a little like Scrooge.  I just want to actually be able to relax a little and enjoy it all.  It’s just not relaxing when my house is dirty and extra dirty from the dusty ornaments, pine needles, and spiders that find their way out of the tree and onto my ceilings.

Time to cut this short as I have some more pressing responsibilities.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Feeling A Little Humbug

  1. Becki

    Hey Amy! I know that this is a busy time . . . lots of homeschool moms I know take a break from the “formal” schooling and do lots of baking, decorating, etc with their children as their schooling. My sister-in-law always says that she only does the decorating and baking that is enjoyable – some years lots; other years next to nothing. This year, our only tree is one that will be decorated by whatever my kids make this month – keeping the tree simple, the kids entertained, and never having to worry about them breaking a special ornament is very worth it. I don’t know exactly how much time we’ll take off of school, but missing the chance to have a special Christmas with my little ones isn’t worth it to me. 🙂 By the way, every time I look at my to-do list for this month, I completely panic. I think I need to rewrite the list.

    1. graceinthemoment

      Becki,

      Good thoughts! My only concern is we are starting to get behind in our normal textbooks/school-work. I don’t want that to happen. We may wind up decorating Christmas Eve, if necessary. Jonathan has off from work, starting the Friday before Christmas. I have a feeling that’s when we’ll get our tree and put up some things. I just can’t think about it or worry about. There’s too much going on in each day.

      Take care,
      Amy

Leave a Reply

