Birth Blunders

Most of you all know already, but our family just welcomed a new addition: Olivia Céilí Grace Knight.  That means I need to soon change the title of my blog.  🙂  In the meantime, I wanted to share a couple of noteworthy funnies since giving birth to our precious Olivia.

My water broke on Friday evening.  That was a first for me.  The midwives have always had to brake my water when I was in transition or very active labor.  Anyway, the boys were in the car with me when it happened and thought it was gross that mommy was all wet.  Will said, “I am glad I am not a lady.”  The next day, my dad took the boys to a Sunday school picnic.  As Luke hopped out of the car, he yelled for the church to hear, “My mommy wet her pants!”  He couldn’t understand why Mommy would pee her pants when he knows you aren’t supposed to do that.

After the boys saw Olivia for the first time, Lukey said, “Our baby is super tiny.”  The boys then wanted to know if it hurt a lot to get her out and if I cried.  They then asked how she came out.  I told them that God made a special place for them to come out.  They then started to guess.  Drew said, “I know she came out of your nose.”  Wow!  That must have been a painful sneeze!  🙂  Big nose too!  Drew then changed his mind and said, “No, she came out of your mouth.”  Quite the cough!

Another funny was when Jonathan sent Olivia’s birth announcement to his coworkers.  Instead of writing that she weighed 7 pounds 14.4 ozs., he wrote that she weighed 14.4 pounds!  He corrected his announcement the next day when he got quite the response from a coworker.  Her correction went out to the office for everyone to calm down because she had an important correction to make on the baby’s weight.  I am sure they must have thought I was quite the woman giving birth to such a baby.  She felt big, but that would have been another matter!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Birth Blunders

  1. patchofheaven

    Thanks for calling me the other week! I’d love to stop by your house some Sunday on our way home from church in Dillsburg. I can’t wait to meet Olivia! And to see your boys with her. They must adore that little girl!

    Sounds like you guys are going through a rough patch with sickness and everything right now. I think Satan must fight extra hard against each beautiful new life brought into the world, especially children born into Christian families. Olivia is one more weapon against him! I’m praying for you, Amy! You’re such a good mom and wife. I love you and thank God for you!

Leave a Reply

