Weddings & Boys

Two weeks ago, our family headed to TN for my sister-in-law’s wedding.  We asked some close friends to pray for our trip as we knew we would be on a different schedule, be sleeping in different beds, and taking long trips — all of which can really disrupt little boys.  With bags of snacks, books, coloring books, stickers, and other fun games, we left home with a loaded van.  The first part of our trip was very slow, driving in pouring rain and a bad T-storm.  We then hit rush-hour traffic, road construction, a horrible accident, and finally 4 hours later arrived to pick up my niece who was to accompany us on our trip.  It normally takes two hours to get to her place.  The rest of our trip was less eventful, and we made good timing with very few stops.  (I had packed a car-lunch so that helped.)

We arrived in time for dinner and were able to greet and meet lots of relatives and friends.  The next few days flew by in a flurry of preparations and a bachelorette party and then the wedding.  The boys did really well, and we could truly sense the prayers of our friends back home.  In fact, our boys received lots of compliments from everyone regarding their good behavior.  PTL!

The big day arrived, and I dressed our boys in their black suits or tuxes. — whichever one they had.  I even moussed their hair a bit so it brought out their natural curl.  They wore matching ties and black dress shoes; I couldn’t help but smile as I saw my cute little men.  They did fairly well sitting through the wedding.  Our only slightly interesting moment was when D-1 decided to leave his pew (he was sitting with my niece) to walk to my pew (right behind them).  Thankfully, it was right before the bridal party came down the aisle.  L-1 also tried to stand on my lap to view the choir.  I had to restrain him.  I guess the biggest potential blip was when at least L-1 or D-1 tried to follow me up front when I did my part in the ceremony.  My husband’s uncle managed to rescue the moment by quickly securing them on his lap.

Boys will be boys though so we got a few pictures of them dancing in the foyer while pictures were being taken, dripping mango pop juice down the front of their white shirts, trying to climb the tent poles, and falling into the flower gardens at the front of the church.  Ha! Ha!  I knew those little gentlemen were still little boys who prefer dirt and stickiness over mousse, ties, and suits.

During the reception, I thoroughly enjoyed getting to dance with each of my men: my sweet husband and then each of my cute little men.  I am one spoiled lady!  Another highlight during the reception was watching L-1 walk up to a little girl, adorned in a poofy dress and ribbons, and asking her to dance.  His exact words were, “Will you dance with me?”  She agreed so the cute couple danced away while many cameras snapped pictures.  The dance ended with the little girl pulling both of them to the ground, where their legs flew up in the air.  Little girls will be girls too!

As I watched Hubbie sweetly dance with his mother and sister, I couldn’t help but imagine his mom’s thoughts — how it must feel to behold your son so tall and handsome, so mature, and a father of his own sons.  Such pride and wonder that must be!  It struck me then that in a “blink-of-an-eye” that will be me someday.   I will be the one then looking up into the tall, handsome faces of my sons and thinking back to those days of little boys with mango-stained shirts, climbing tent poles and wonder how the time went so quickly.

I think I will treasure today those muddy little bodies that are so quick to kiss and hug me.  Today they are here, and tomorrow, they will be there.

2 thoughts on “Weddings & Boys

Leave a Reply

