Letter Recognition

Will is starting to recognize his letters now, which is exciting to me.  The other night, I was reading a book about tools and asked Will to name each tool.  He did, and I was amazed at the tools of which he knew the names.  When we got to nuts and then bolts.  He said, “bolts” with a strange pronunciation which made me think he was trying to sound it out on his own.  I asked him if he was trying to read it, and he said “yes.”  So, I asked him what each letter was.  Without hesitation he said, “B, O” and then had some difficulty with the other letters.  I then asked him what other letters were.  He was able to name a few without help.  This is the start to reading!

Leave a Reply

