Run, Ma! Run!

Yesterday, I took the boys outside like normal to run off their energy.  At least, I thought they were going to do the running, but things turned out a a little differently…  I had all three boys riding on their little cars.  I pushed Luke and helped hold him on.  Will decided to take off to the neighbors’ in his car.  I told him to stop, but he thought it sounded fun to have Mommy chase after him.  (I think the boys decided that going outside was to have Mommy run off her “energy.”)  When my stern call for Will to turn around was ignored, I knew that I had to quickly retrieve my son.  Sometimes, I have refused to get him so as to not look like the fool but have found that my son becomes even harder to retrieve.  He knows he gets double trouble if he doesn’t come when he’s called and if we have to go after him.  Anyway, he was in “double trouble.”  The challenge was that I had to grab Luke from his car and then run up the sidewalk after Will.  Luke thought it was great.  He was being bounced around as he ran.  If it wasn’t for the fact that I was the Mommy, I think I would have been chuckling just like my neighbor lady.  She tells me that in her generation kids weren’t so bad as they are today.  As I was running after my son, while he was laughing and the son in my arms was laughing and my neighbor was laughing, I was wishing that I had short-term memory loss.  My attempts to tire the boys only seem to succeed in tiring me out.  Boy do I wish that someone would put me down for a nap.  🙂

Leave a Reply

